jump to navigation

iPhone 7: What Up? September 8, 2016

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Here are the differences between the iPhone 7 and the 6s, as compiled by CNET:

  • No headphone jack (instead you get the easily-lost $160/pair Airpods, which communicate with phone via Bluetooth)
  • More storage: up to 256Gb
  • Brighter screen
  • Stereo speakers
  • Faster processor
  • 12 Megapixel cameras
  • 7plus comes with dual cameras
  • Better battery

I’m coming up on the end of my 2-year contract w/Verizon (whatever that means these days), so I’ll be upgrading from the 6 plus to the 7 plus (i.e., the bigger phones for the eyesight-and-fat-finger-challenged). But honestly, none of the improvements really compensate for the headphone jack PiTA.

Comments»

1. Jimbro - September 8, 2016

Other than plugging my iPhone via the charging port into an iHome device that plays music at my office I don’t really use it for music so the headphone jack would not be missed by me. If they took the charging port away it would be catastrophic. Not really, it would be a bummer since the music device is only a few years old and could go until I retired unless it became obsolete overnight.

2. Jimbro - September 8, 2016

I have an iPhone 5 which suits my needs. I think it’s around 3 years old and when they started mentioning the 7’s coming out it did stimulate some interest on my part. Soon after that I read about the anticipated features on the iPhone 8 and threw my hands up in frustration.

3. geoff - September 8, 2016

I don’t really use it for music so the headphone jack would not be missed by me.

You don’t use the earbuds for hands-free conversations?

4. Jimbro - September 8, 2016

I have a bluetooth earpiece for when I’m driving but otherwise I’m really not a big phone talker.

5. vaitguy - September 8, 2016

If you value anything Sanjay Gupta says, the analog earbud/microphone combo is less a health hazard than strapping the radio so close to your think-centre… I do hear of a lightning adapter though for the 3.5mm jack (gee, thanks Apple!) *may* be available.

6. geoff - September 9, 2016

Another feature:

Apple’s ‘This is 7’ slogan for its new iPhone 7 has a rather unfortunate translation in Hong Kong.

Smartphone users have been mocking the technology firm’s latest marketing line because it sounds just like ‘This is penis’ in Cantonese.


Leave a Reply

