jump to navigation

YOU ARE IN A MAZE OF TWISTY LITTLE PASSAGES, ALL ALIKE* September 23, 2016

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

I’ve been known to relentlessly express concerns over China’s geopolitical ambitions and military buildup, but now I’m forced to report that the Chinese are also leaving us behind in urban design:

chinesepedestrianbridge

That’s a new pedestrian bridge in Hunan Province, built to resemble Chinese knots (whatever those are). There are a lot more pictures at the link, and they’re all pretty cool.

*Extra Credit to anyone who remembers that reference w/o Googling.

Comments»

1. Jimbro - September 23, 2016

Beautiful design. I looked up “Chinese Knotting” and even the simple designs look imposing. It’s as if the Chinese started working on paracord knots a few thousand years before the West figured out how to make a paracord bracelet.

2. Jimbro - September 23, 2016

Another thought: I don’t think China deals with graffiti “artists” the same way we do so I think the bridge will remain in pristine condition longer than, say, in NYC

3. Jimbro - September 23, 2016

YOU ARE IN A MAZE OF TWISTY LITTLE PASSAGES, ALL ALIKE

This required some searching on my part. Interesting story behind the phrase.

#educationalblog

4. Cathy - September 23, 2016

Yes, Geoff, you are relentless and I love that about you. But my gut still holds hope and confidence about America, with the creativity, humor and passion to overcome the odds against us with China. Maybe the good news will not evident in the short run.

This bridge looks good at a distance, but I wonder how it looks for the pedestrians. Can they enjoy the view? Doesn’t look like they can see anything with those high side walls. I’m estimating the dimensions — given the height of the steps as compared to the side walls — that my short self at 5′ 5″ could not see the trees or the river below while walking across. Might be ‘urban’ but if it blocks out the nature that helps bring tranquility to the heart, then forget it.

5. geoff - September 23, 2016

This required some searching on my part. Interesting story behind the phrase.

“Interesting story!?!”

That there’s my youth you’re talking about.

6. Tushar - September 23, 2016

>>It was designed in this manner as the two parks it connects had differing ground levels, according to Holland NEXT Architects, the firm that designed the bridge.

Holland NEXT Architects. A very Han Chinese name for a firm.

7. Tushar - September 23, 2016

>> I wonder how it looks for the pedestrians. Can they enjoy the view? Doesn’t look like they can see anything with those high side walls.

Um, China does things to show off to the rest of the world. The convenience and aspirations of common Chinese folks do not enter the equation.

Cathy - September 23, 2016

>>The convenience and aspirations of common Chinese folks do not enter the equation.

Never been to China, but folks I know who have kinda agree with that, Tushar. Maybe that’s my point.

8. Retired Geezer - September 23, 2016

Oh! I just figured out, it must be a Zork reference. Right?

Even back then (early 70’s) I learned that the NY Times was a jerk because they threatened to sue the ‘New Zork Times’ (newsletter for online gamers) for copyright infringement.

9. geoff - September 23, 2016

Close – it’s from Adventure.

10. Sobek - September 24, 2016

I would have guessed Zork, but I’ve never played that or Adventure.


Leave a Reply

