jump to navigation

Man Mounts Manatee, Makes Meddlers Mad September 24, 2016

Posted by geoff in News.

What kind of country do we live in, where a man can’t saddle up a manatee and take a spin around a lagoon?

A Florida man was arrested for allegedly attempting to ride the back of a manatee in the Florida Keys, police say.

Police charged 47-year-old James Massengale Jr. with annoying, molesting, harassing, or disturbing a manatee after a witness saw the man “touching and laying” on top of two adult manatees and their calves at Islamorada Library Beach, NBC 6 reported.

If being a manatee cowboy is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

I leave you with the world’s greatest manatee song, which is probably also the world’s worst manatee song and most mediocre manatee song:


1. skinbad - September 25, 2016

After the headline, I was relieved to find he just wanted to ride it in the transportation sense. Count your self fortunate, manatee.

2. lauraw - September 25, 2016

Like a manatee cowboy
Riding on a seacow in an illegal rodeo

Like a manatee cowboy
Get reported to cops by people I don’t even know

3. skinbad - September 25, 2016

Starring Robert Redsnapper. Hey, I just found a fish I think should be the Official Fish of Innocent Bystanders.

I’d like to put it on the agenda for the next meeting. I’ll book the conference room.

4. Sobek - September 26, 2016

Laura, that was wonderful.

The manatee song reminds me of this song about a whale:

5. lauraw - September 26, 2016

Oh, Ren and Stimpy. What a treat. I used to watch that all by myself in my apartment in Hartford. It’s still fresh and there’s nothing like it.

Leave a Reply

