jump to navigation

Two Centered Pictures September 26, 2016

Posted by skinbad in Ballistics, Food, Handblogging, Nature Shit, Personal Experiences, Technology, Women Ranting.

I know I’m behind the times, but the times for me have a-changed. The IT guy took my trusty Dell doorstop away and replaced it with this:


It’s an Intel NUC. Kind of cool, I think. When is the last time you used the DVD player in your computer?

And furthermore: A neighbor called Saturday afternoon and asked if we wanted a hindquarter of an elk. My thrifty wife got very excited. Of course we do. That was about 3 p.m. We finished the kitchen Clorox wipe-down about 9 p.m. Elk are big mofos.


I should have weighed it before starting. It had to weight 80 lbs. This was a new experience for me–thanks youtube. Also, a neighbor I called and asked if I could borrow his knife sharpener came over and helped me bone it (huhhuhuh). New respect for butchers gained–my hands and back are stiff, but there is a lot of meat in the freezer and on the shelf (we bottled a canner load).


1. geoff - September 26, 2016

When is the last time you used the DVD player in your computer?

I still use mine all the time. But that NUC unit is still pretty cool.

2. skinbad - September 26, 2016

I’m sure the WordPress style manual approves my use of “when is.” And I appreciate you highlighting its usage.:)

3. Tushar - September 26, 2016

If I boned an elk right in the hindquarters , I am not sure I would openly brag about it on the internet.

4. Retired Geezer - September 26, 2016

Mrs. Geezer and I went Elk hunting on our horsies a few years ago.
Even though I had orange flags hanging all over my horse, I was a nervous wreck that someone would shoot it out from under me.

Pro Tip: Don’t ride around the mountains during Elk season on an Elk colored animal (including manatees).

5. geoff - September 26, 2016

I am not sure I would openly brag about it on the internet.

I would think it would depend upon the quality of the boner.

6. Mark in NJ - September 26, 2016

I knew an elk boner once and he was a stand-up guy. Rock solid.

7. lauraw - September 26, 2016

Skinny, did you taste any of it yet? Curious to know how gamey. I presume this is basically stew meat/ ground meat only.

8. skinbad - September 26, 2016

Not yet. Though I’ve had elk before and thought it was pretty good. We didn’t grind any–cut lots of steaks and probably three freezer bags of stew meat. General consensus seems to be deer is gamier. A lot of people around here say the bottled meat is really good. You fill the bottles with meat and add water and a beef bullion cube and pressure cook it and it comes out tender and tasty. I’ll report on the taste later. My wife said she didn’t want to eat any for awhile until she stops remembering the smell of the butchering job.

9. geoff - September 26, 2016

I had the Game Plate at The Fort, which has “A bone-in Elk chop, Buffalo sirloin medallion, and a grilled teriyaki Quail.”

But to my unrefined palate, everything just tasted like food.

10. lauraw - September 26, 2016

Many years ago I butchered a deer with my ex. I don’t remember a smell. But it was so damn cold, and we were working in an unheated shed.

11. lauraw - September 26, 2016

Also, we didn’t know what we were doing, and it was loooong before youtube existed. If you can imagine such a primitive time.

People could learn things, but they had to learn things from other people they knew, who were physically present. It was the Dark Ages.

12. skinbad - September 27, 2016

It’s not a stink, just a . . . smell. And don’t get me started on the Dark Ages–what with the plague and having to talk to people in your physical space. I can’t even.

13. skinbad - September 27, 2016

We’ve also heard to soak the meat in milk before cooking and it supposedly takes the gaminess out.

14. skinbad - September 27, 2016

Of course, if an infected rat bit you in the nuts I guess it could be like a free scrotox treatment. So, you know, don’t run down the Dark Ages without thinking it through.

15. geoff - September 27, 2016

Yeah – Nancy Pelosi could have just had them gnaw on her face for a bit.

Leave a Reply

