jump to navigation

Size Comparison October 1, 2016

Posted by geoff in News.

Cool series of photoshops comparing sizes of things. Here’s the most fanciful:

The most unrealistic of all the images - for more than one reason - was one showing the Death Star from Star Wars hovering ominously above Florida

Death Star vs. Florida

Several more at the link.


1. Jimbro - October 1, 2016

The B2 bomber one stood out for me. I’ve only ever seen them parked in isolation on an airfield or in flight. Seeing it on a football field with dimensions well known to me is amazing.

2. Sobek - October 2, 2016

I like the bit on Spaceballs where President Scroob has to sprint through the ship because it’s so big. “If I walk, the movie will be over.”

That’s what I thought when I saw that Death Star pic. If you take the I-4 from Daytona Beach to St. Petersburg, that’s a 2:45 drive (assuming light traffic). Not a very practical set-up.

3. digitalbrownshirt - October 3, 2016

I liked the cat picture, but mostly because I don’t like cats.

4. Sobek - October 4, 2016

Driving into work a little while ago, I looked at the downtown skyline and wondered how it would look with ATAT walkers in the streets. So when I got into work I asked a couple of colleagues to do some research on that, and we figured they would be a bit more than half the height of the tallest buildings.

So now that’s what I think about when I drive around. ATAT walkers messing up downtown traffic.

5. Retired Geezer - October 4, 2016

Wait, I know where you live… What downtown traffic?

Leave a Reply

