jump to navigation

Final Fantasy XV? Not in My Stocking! November 16, 2016

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Long-time readers know that I’m a huge fan of the Final Fantasy (FF) series, at least the games that are not MMORPGs, not Tactics, not FFX-2 and involve turn-based combat (i.e., pre-Final Fantasy XII). But despite the fact that the Final Fantasy installments since FFX have progressed to real-time combat systems, I usually buy them out of respect for the earlier games.

So, I was fully intending to encourage my wife and kids to get FFXV for me for Xmas. Absolutely planning on it. Until I saw this:

…and that’s all she wrote.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - November 16, 2016

Don’t blame you.

Games that I remember fondly:
Half Life
Red Dead Revolver & Redemption
Portal
The Call of Duty series
Rainbow Six Vegas
Guild Wars

YMMV

2. digitalbrownshirt - November 17, 2016

This is the first FF game I actually want to get. I liked the demo and it’s clear that the game is too Japanese for the short attention span of Conan. That’s not a problem for me.

Some current games I’m playing:

Battlefield 1 = I liked the campaign a lot, the potential for the mp is huge, but do get tired of spending 15 seconds running to where the action is just to get killed by a sniper as soon as I get there. Hopefully the new updates of “Fog” and “Hardcore mode” will help.

Modern Warfare Remastered = My eyes and reflexes aren’t as good 8 years later, but I still think this is my favorite FPS of all time. It was what got me into playing mp on Xbox Live

Infinite Warfare = Absolutely shocked me because it looked like it would be a reminder of why I quit playing the COD games a few years ago when it turned into Call of Halo. The campaign is one of the best I’ve played in a few years with a plot that starts with a 911/Pearl Harbor event, then follows up with a theme on the need for hard decisions and sometimes self-sacrifice to insure the survival of your people. I actually felt some minor emotional bond with some of the characters because they reminded me of people I knew. The mp is better than I thought it would be too. It’s sci-fi, but it’s a military shooter at heart. Also the zombie mode has an 80’s retro theme with Paul Reubens and David Hasselhoff doing voice work. Less dark than previous zombie games, which is good in my opinion.

Gears of War 4 = I own all of the previous games, but have never played any of them. I kind of regret that since you play as the son of a major character from the series and there are plenty of apparent references to the earlier games. I really enjoyed it a lot. I’ve only played the campaign so far. My clan is supposed to be doing some mp tonight so I’m going to try to get in on that.

If anybody is looking for older players to do multiplayer gaming with on Xbox Live you should check out Pork Chop Patrol. It’s a very relaxed, age 25 or older clan that focuses on Xbox FPS games, but they also have people playing Gears and Elder Scrolls Online. There’s a Friday night mixer that normally involves custom games on a current release, but there’s not much pressure to show up for any regular games. It’s all voluntary. Tell them AKA the Seeker sent you.πŸ™‚

http://www.porkchoppatrol.com

3. digitalbrownshirt - November 17, 2016

http://porkchopplatoon.com/Site/content.php

Figures I’d type in the wrong name. I either need more medication or I’ve taken too much.πŸ˜‰

Pork Chop Platoon

4. Retired Geezer - November 17, 2016

Anybody play any of those ‘World of Tanks’ World of Ships kind of games?

5. digitalbrownshirt - November 18, 2016

I down loaded it this week, but haven’t opened it yet. There’s a bunch of players in my clan. I thought I should at least check it out.

I played GoW4 Horde for about 3 hours tonight. It was a lot of fun, but most of the time I didn’t know what was going on.

6. digitalbrownshirt - November 18, 2016

Overwatch is free this weekend on PS4/XB1/PC this weekend. Achievements are turned off, but any progress is saved and transfers if you eventually buy the game. The videos I’ve seen didn’t exactly sell me on the game, but I figure I can afford a free try out.

7. Will - November 22, 2016

I play World of Warships when possible around the little ones and other familial obligations. Xbrad plays it quite a bit. He’s posted a lot of gameplay to his Youtube channel. I pop in to World of Tanks on occasion, but I’ve gotten rusty.


Leave a Reply

