jump to navigation

A Coveted Innocent Bystanders Endorsement November 19, 2016

Posted by skinbad in Heroes, Technology, Women Ranting.
trackback

No, not a political endorsement–merciful SMOD, please give us a few months’ break. This is some free software that saved my daughter’s bacon and made old dad look like a hero. The story goes something like this:

I was headed to bed the other night and checked on my daughter who was working on some homework on the computer in the study. I was just going to tell her “goodnight” and be on my way when I noticed something wasn’t right. Being a sensitive male, I picked up on the subtle clue that she was sad by the tears rolling down her face. Upon further investigation, it appeared she had deleted about 50 photos from her thumb drive. These were for her photography class and she had spent a lot of time editing them. She thought she had moved them to the computer before clearing off the thumb drive, but apparently not.

I had never had a need to try to recover files, so this was new to me. I wondered if it would be possible to get the photos back by (gasp) PAYING for some expert help. Then I thought, let’s do what any normal person would do and “Google It.” I’m leery of downloading software after a couple of experiences with my teen daughters who got a lot more than they bargained for (ransomware) when downloading games that sounded fun.

Anyhoo–at the top of the list was a program by Piriform called “Recuva.” Get it? “Recover,” like I might imagine a Northeastern moron like laurREDACTED would say it. I recognized Piriform as the “CCleaner” company and have used that quite a bit over the years at the recommendation of IT people at work. So, I figured we could trust it.

I downloaded and installed the free version, chose the type of file to look for and then selected the drive. Bing, bang, boom, there the photos were. Ecstatic daughter, hero dad, grateful Recuva user. Also, thoughtful dad, in regards to just how “deleted” files are that you try to delete. Two thumbs up from a very satisfied user.

recuva-gets-support-for-iso-images-and-unmounted-drives

Comments»

1. digitalbrownshirt - November 19, 2016

Good job dad.


Leave a Reply

