jump to navigation

Fashion for the Star Wars Fan January 3, 2017

Posted by geoff in Fashion.
trackback

Back to my ever-popular series on fashion, the demand for which has been, if I may be immodest, abysmally modest. Today we’ll look at traditional women’s wear, focusing on the skirt. As it turns out, Think Geek is having quite a large winter clearance sale, with the gem below featured at a mere $59.99. Yes, you too can adorn yourself with a variety of light sabers, artfully arranged to point at your chest.

Front

I’m saddened that they don’t light up, but I think they’ll go quite well with the Darth Vader flats ($158.99):Darth Vader Flats- Limited Edition

Comments»

1. Lance McCormick - January 6, 2017

Snark all you want, but Ashley Eckstein is a fantastic businesswoman and entrepeneur- for a long time, female sf fans have been ignored in the marketplace. “Find a need and fill it” is a basic economic maxim, and conservatives should be cheering supply finally meeting demand.

(Her site, http://www.heruniverse.com, is apparently temporarily down, fwiw.)

2. geoff - January 6, 2017

Ashley Eckstein is a fantastic businesswoman and entrepeneur

Don’t recall ever criticizing her.

for a long time, female sf fans have been ignored in the marketplace

Back in my day, all sf fans were ignored in the marketplace. But even today, I don’t recall that many SF-based sartorial options for men that would be suitable for casual or business wear (my Cthulhu polo shirt excepted, of course; a copy of which my daughter also owns).

“Find a need and fill it” is a basic economic maxim, and conservatives should be cheering supply finally meeting demand.

That’s great, but the demographic of the regulars on this site trends toward mid-40’s through mid-60’s (+ Retired Geezer). I tease the ladies in that demographic with photos of ridiculous fashions. I think most of them share my opinion that wearing that skirt to a non-SF event would be absurd.

If Ms. Eckstein has a market for that skirt, then all the best to her and her presumably satisfied customers.

But personally, I’m not buying one until the damn light sabers light up.

3. retiredgeezer - January 6, 2017

the regulars on this site trends toward mid-40’s through mid-60’s.

*that awkward moment when geezer realizes he’s waay outside the demographic*

4. geoff - January 6, 2017

Fixtit.

5. lauraw - January 6, 2017

Ashley Eckstein is a fantastic businesswoman and entrepeneur

No way, man. Screw her. SCREW ASHLEY ECKSTEIN. Yeah, I said it.

I’m ready to go to war. With her, and with all her little sockpuppets sycophants too. All of them. ALL. They must number legions, but I am unafraid.

No mercy.

(btw…who the Hell is Ashley Eckstein?)

6. geoff - January 6, 2017

Ashley Eckstein? Let me speak of the legend that is Ashley Eckstein. She whose name is whispered in the dark corridors of eldritch power. She who has toppled empires with but a toss of her curly locks and shifted continents with a mere a scowl from her perfect brow. She whose fair form, lithe but voluptuous, willowy but curvaceous, skinny but chunky, has caused deities to cast aside their immortality to spend a single afternoon in her presence.

That is the Ashley Eckstein I know, the Ashley Eckstein I worship, and yes, the Ashley Eckstein I dare to love.

7. lauraw - January 6, 2017

You can suck on her ass all you want, but she’s not ever, ever, going to make those light sabers light up for you.

8. Lance McCormick - January 6, 2017

Wow, harsh. Eckstein’s a voice actress and self-described fangirl. Married to a baseball player whose name I forget.

My point was that hatin’ on random other niches is what The Left does, and we’re supposed to be more live and let live. While your commentary wasn’t *technically* hatin’ per se, it had the whiff of Othering that I, myself, find triggering, oppressive and I can’t even keep a straight face at all this.

GOOD DAY, SIR!

(i said good day)

9. geoff - January 7, 2017

You can suck on her ass all you want, but she’s not ever, ever, going to make those light sabers light up for you.

I’m saddened that you’re trying to sully my devotion with such base motives.

*hums happily while strewing LEDs in Ashley Eckstein’s path*

10. lauraw - January 7, 2017

‘Skinny but chunky’ as the final pair of adjectives had me cracking up pretty good. Sneakily done, geoff. Most fine.

GOODBYE, LANCE.
If that is your real name… *eyes narrow*

11. geoff - January 7, 2017

Just noticed that I missed the k in “know” in the last sentence. Also Lance was missing the f in “myself.” Fixtem both.

12. Cathy - January 7, 2017

I hate that skirt.

I hate that t-shirt.

I hate those shoes.

I don’t hate the model. She might be cute, but that getup makes her look fat too.

13. retiredgeezer - January 7, 2017

I like looking at photos from Comic Con events.
I also like the whole Steam Punk genre.
Don’t judge me.

14. geoff - January 7, 2017

I hate that skirt.

It’s the lack of LEDs, isn’t it.

15. geoff - January 7, 2017

I also like the whole Steam Punk genre.

I like it too. Makes me wish I had artistic talent. Which I completely do not.


Leave a Reply

