jump to navigation

IB Site Theme January 9, 2017

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve been unhappy with this site’s theme for a couple of reasons: first, it doesn’t use much horizontal space, leaving a lot of blank screen on a decent-sized monitor; and second, the dang font is too faint. I paid for the customization upgrade but it still wouldn’t let me change that stuff.

So here’s a preview of the theme (Garland) I used to use on my old blog as it would look applied to IB. It’s a 3-column format with a darker font. You’ll have to imagine it with our current header.

ibgarland

I’m not saying this is the theme (I hope there’s something far better), but I am saying that I’d prefer something with the same features.

So if y’all could weigh in on your druthers and suggest some other themes, I’d appreciate it.

UPDATE: Here’s a screencap of the current site on my monitor for comparison.

IBsCurrentLook.GIF

Comments»

1. geoff - January 9, 2017

Should also mention that despite my flag-waving in the previous post, I myself have no artistic abilities or vision whatsoever. So it’d be great if someone with an eye for color and layouts stepped in.

2. Will - January 9, 2017

I’m think something with an orange and chartreuse checker pattern background would look great! And yellow text!

3. geoff - January 9, 2017

OK, yeah, that sounds good!

4. lauraw - January 9, 2017

I like the new formatting idea. I don’t actually have any talent for graphic design, sorry.

5. lauraw - January 9, 2017

But I do see what Will was doing there.

*loads Chuck Norris cannon*

*shoots Will in the chest with Chuck Norris*

6. geoff - January 9, 2017

The only thing that can stop a Chuck Norris cannon is Ashley Eckstein.

7. geoff - January 9, 2017

I don’t actually have any talent for graphic design, sorry.

Well do me a favor anyway and look through the themes to see if there’s something you like.

8. Sobek - January 9, 2017

So let me try to speak out my vision, here. Black background, white letters in all capitals, every sentence ends with a minimum three exclamation points. Oh, and some kind of dripping blood gif on either side.

9. Cathy - January 9, 2017

Does this lovable bunch of commenters care about graphic design?

I don’t.

I agree that use of more horizontal space could be good.

I like blue stuff. I hope we keep the current header.

10. lauraw - January 9, 2017

Everybody needs to listen to what Sobek has to say.
.
.

aaaaand, stop.

OK, that was a good practice run, everybody.

11. geoff - January 9, 2017

*locks Will & Sobek in a room together*

12. geoff - January 9, 2017

*tosses in orange, chartreuse, black, and red markers*

13. geoff - January 9, 2017

Only DinTX could survive in that room.

14. Jimbro - January 9, 2017

What Cathy said about the header

15. lauraw - January 9, 2017

OK, looking at and liking these: 2016, Franklin, Colinear, Lovecraft, Edda, Libre, P2, Nucleare, Plane, Editor, Suits, Zoren, Silesia, Able, and Twenty Ten.

I’ll narrow it down more tomorrow and submit a few for you guys to look at. They’re kind of minimalist and similar to this format, but not so teensy on the page. I forgot to eliminate the ones with grey text. I will do so tomorrow.

16. lauraw - January 9, 2017

Me too, Jimbro. Maybe an updated pretty blue night sky with moon is in order.

17. geoff - January 9, 2017

Skinbad suggested Flounder, Adaption, and An. I also liked Elemin and Opti.

18. lauraw - January 9, 2017

cool, will check them out.

19. digitalbrownshirt - January 9, 2017

All I care about is “Can I read the page?” Other than that, knock yourselves out.

20. lauraw - January 10, 2017

Second vote for Adaption.

21. The Innocent Bystanders Site Theme Poll | Innocent Bystanders - January 26, 2017

[…] we mentioned previously, after more than 10 years our site theme seems a little restrictive and dated. So I asked everybody […]


Leave a Reply

