jump to navigation

The Innocent Bystanders Site Theme Poll January 26, 2017

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

As we mentioned previously, after more than 10 years our site theme seems a little restrictive and dated. So I asked everybody to submit their recommendations on alternative themes. Skinbad, lauraw, and I all suggested several themes, with laura really getting into the groove.

Here are the exciting previews of our site with each of these themes. A few notes before we start, though.

  1. I couldn’t find several suggested themes: An, 2016, Editor, and Able. If you can find them, I’ll happily include them.
  2. You have to look at the theme layout rather than the colors (which can be customized later).
  3. I didn’t bother to do much customization of the themes – there may be features I missed that would make things a lot cooler. I think it was the Colinear theme where I finally noticed that it had a 3-column option in addition to the 2-column option. I may have missed similar options with other themes. If you care, you can take your favorite theme, customize it, screencap it, and we’ll swap out my picture for yours.

OK, so here they really are – vote for as many as you like in the comments (couldn’t get the stupid poll thing to work):

lauraw

franklintheme

Franklin Theme

colineartheme

Colinear Theme

lovecrafttheme

Lovecraft Theme

eddatheme

Edda Theme

libretheme

Libre Theme

p2theme

P2 Theme

nuclearetheme

Nucleare Theme

planetheme

Plane Theme

suitstheme

Suits Theme

zorentheme

Zoren Theme

silesiatheme

Silesia Theme

twentytentheme

Twenty Ten Theme

skinbad

adaptiontheme

Adaption Theme

floundertheme

Flounder Theme

geoff

elemintheme

Elemin Theme

optitheme

Opti Theme

Comments»

1. geoff - January 26, 2017

My faves:

1. Colinear
2. Opti
3. Adaption
4. P2 or Elemin

2. Jimbro - January 27, 2017

LMNOP theme (Elemin)

Also, too many choices leads to indecision for me anyway.

3. geoff - January 27, 2017

But if I eliminated choices then I’d have to make decisions. So I punted it to you guys.

4. geoff - January 27, 2017

People best start a’votin’ or I’m going to look for more Lena Dunham glamour shots.

5. OBF - January 27, 2017

Lovecraft or Plane
(As long as you don’t replace the Lovecraft picture with anything related to Lena Dunham)

6. skinbad - January 27, 2017

I think one of the ones I suggested was ARI–looked like “An”. I might have typed it wrong. But, doesn’t matter. I say Opti. If coffee is for closers, themes are for posters.

7. geoff - January 27, 2017

I figure readers should have at least an equal say.

8. retiredgeezer - January 27, 2017

Plane is my favorite but Opti is good if you like the 3-column look.

9. Cathy - January 27, 2017

Thanks, Geoff and others, for your efforts.

1. Lovecraft

2. Plane (but not fond of that font — prefer we keep the same font)

10. Sobek - January 27, 2017

Elemin

Cathy - January 27, 2017

3. Elemin is cool too.

*see how I did that — convergent ideas thingy?*

11. historyupclose - January 27, 2017

I like Elemin or Opti for readability.. but would enjoy a cool photo on the header, like in Lovecraft.

Cathy - January 27, 2017

Cool photo in the header, like in Lovecraft. YES!

*see how I did that convergent ideas thingy again?*

12. retiredgeezer - January 27, 2017

Welp… I got the Harrison photo of Mt. St. Helens.

He would probably be honored.

13. Mr. Matamoros - January 28, 2017

I likes me some colinear.

14. jam2 - January 28, 2017

Elemin catches my eye

15. MacStansbury - January 31, 2017

I used the P2 theme for a while on a site of mine and it worked quite awesomely. All I needed was somebody else to look at it. That’s the part I never got going.

But it makes looking at all the posts real fun and easy. And makes comments fun. Well, as fun as commenting can be, because as we all know, commenting ain’t easy.


Leave a Reply

