jump to navigation

Lady Gaga and The Flub February 8, 2017

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

Lady Gaga is fighting back against those who thought she had a little too much belly fat during her Super Bowl performance. She had this to say via Twitter (incriminating pictures at the link):

I heard my body is a topic of conversation so I wanted to say, I’m proud of my body and you should be proud of yours too. No matter who you are or what you do. I could give you a million reasons why you don’t need to cater to anyone or anything to succeed. Be you, and be relentlessly you. That’s the stuff of champions. thank you so much everyone for supporting me. I love you guys. Xoxo, gaga

This is, as usual, much ado about nothing. You can’t pick any subject, no matter how anodyne, without somebody vehemently disagreeing. So there are always losers who will complain about a bit of excess flub. By criticizing a famous star they feel empowered and superior, never realizing that it only makes them objects of pity or scorn.

But as to Lady Gaga’s response, I don’t quite agree.

When she says that she’s proud of her body, I’m of the opinion that she has every right to be. But in general, there are praiseworthy bodies and there are . . . those other bodies. Bodies like mine, for example.

I am not proud of my body, and I don’t think people who are overweight, out of shape, etc., should be proud of theirs either. But if you’re not going to do anything about it, then don’t worry about it. Just accept that that’s where you are in life.

It’s not a matter of pride, it’s a matter of being realistic and being comfortable with that reality.

Being “proud” of your body, without regard for its actual merits, is neither mentally nor physically healthy. If pride matters to you, make something you can be proud of. But being proud of being fat is like being proud of the participant ribbon you “won” when you took last place.

Comments»

1. Mark in NJ - February 8, 2017

Nice point – “proud of” vs “OK with” is a good distinction.

Also it might be interesting to see some of the muffintops and love handles on the people calling out GaGa’s flab.

If her gut is the standard for what’s fat, then I’m fudgie the whale.

2. digitalbrownshirt - February 8, 2017

Good post. As far as the digital lynch mob over her body fat I suspect that much of it is motivated by her refusal to throw liberal bombs at the Super Bowl. They were all expecting some kind of antifa statement against America and Trump, but all they got was a show. She literally made enemies by being a professional entertainer. Good for her.

3. retiredgeezer - February 8, 2017

…there are praiseworthy bodies and there are . . . those other bodies. Bodies like mine, for example.

*imagines geoff prancing around in a Gaga outfit*

4. geoff - February 8, 2017

That way madness lies.

5. lauraw - February 8, 2017

*imagines geoff prancing around in a Gaga outfit*

Geezer, we are your friends, this is a safe place, and you can admit to who you really are, here.

Geoff, you should try to blog less provocatively, or wear a burkha.

6. Tushar - February 8, 2017

Burkha? No. I want to see Geoff in Miley Cyrus’s chicken outfit.

7. lauraw - February 8, 2017

I want to see Geoff in Miley Cyrus’s chicken outfit.

SIGH.

Tushar, we are your friends, this is a safe place…

8. retiredgeezer - February 8, 2017

*gives seekrit handshake to Tushar*

9. digitalbrownshirt - February 8, 2017

I was eating dinner with my daughter at a Thai restaurant last Saturday. As we’re waiting for the food I’m humming along with the music playing in the background. I told her I really liked this song. She just stares at me blankly like she’s waiting for me to say something else. So I said “What? I do like this song. What is it?” She says it’s Miley Cyrus singing “Wrecking Ball”. Yes, that was the first time I’d ever actually listened to it and had no idea what it was. She thought I was joking. I’d heard a parody version of it by Mikey Bustos on YouTube, but had never heard the original.

What were we talking about? Hand shakes?

10. retiredgeezer - February 8, 2017

Here’s the best version of that song:

In case you didn’t know, this lovely girl was killed by a random a**hole while she was signing autographs after a concert.

11. geoff - February 8, 2017

So I said “What? I do like this song. What is it?” She says it’s Miley Cyrus singing “Wrecking Ball”.

12. geoff - February 8, 2017

But having done the obligatory Donald Sutherland thing, I’ll admit that the tune is kind of catchy.

13. digitalbrownshirt - February 9, 2017

It helps if you’re familiar with Filipino culture, but it might resonate with anybody with family in “the old country”.


Leave a Reply

