jump to navigation

Corey Hart is Sending Me Some Really Mixed Messages June 14, 2017

Posted by Sobek in News.
trackback

Like most Americans, I often lie awake at night wondering what Corey Hart is trying to say with the song “Sunglasses at Night.”  For starters, here’s what Corey Hart looks like:

Hart

As you can see, he’s trying to look tough, but not too tough because he’s Canadian.  So when we get a song called, “Sunglasses at Night,” you can kind of assume we’re sticking with the tough-guy (relatively speaking) thing.  And that’s consistent with a line like, “don’t switch the blade on the guy in shades, oh no.”  See, because he’s tough enough that you don’t want to risk pulling a knife on him (but not so tough that he can’t make it sound like a polite warning).

If that were it, then I’d move on with my life, content that I had Corey’s oeuvre well enough in hand.

But then he says things like, “she’s deceiving me/It cuts my security,” and that’s more of a “betrayed by your woman” line, and then “‘Cause you got it made with the guy in shades oh no” is more like hey, join my gang and you’ll be safe from other potentially dangerous Canadians, like Snow.  And then we have “And I wear my sunglasses at night/So I can so I can/Forget my name while you collect your claim,” which might be more about the wife of an amnesiac who is getting disability insurance on his behalf.  Or at least faking amnesia for that purpose.  I don’t know if amnesia correlates to nocturnal-sunglasses-wearing; I should probably look that up.

Comments»

1. digitalbrownshirt - June 14, 2017

To be completely honest I didn’t notice there are other lyrics besides “I wear my sunglasses at night”. At least there weren’t any others I remembered from the song. Your theory gives me something to ponder now.

2. OBF - June 14, 2017

Someone has too much time on their hands. I’m looking for a return of the interviews with the croc god and some mere mortals…like the dude who wears his sunglasses at night.

3. geoff - June 14, 2017

To be completely honest I didn’t notice there are other lyrics besides “I wear my sunglasses at night”.

Me too. Sobek could be completely making those lyrics up and we’d never know.

4. Sobek - June 14, 2017

Based on his squint in that picture, I wonder if the sunglasses are prescription.

5. veeshir - June 14, 2017

Trying to figure out 80s pop songs lyrics is a lost cause.
The music muse was too coked up to make much sense.

6. skinbad - June 14, 2017

“Punch my douche-face” isn’t much of a mixed message.

7. Mark in NJ - June 14, 2017

I’d be interested in a compare & contrast with Nick Gilder’s “Hot Child in the City”

8. Retired Geezer - June 15, 2017

James Woods (who occasionally wears sunglasses at night) destroyed Tom Arnold on Twitter:
http://www.dailywire.com/news/17546/tom-arnold-gets-angry-news-congressional-shooter-hank-berrien

Reminded me of this quote from Roseanne Barr:

World-famous comedian Roseanne Barr was typically brutal with this: “We were trying to get pregnant, but I forgot one of us had to have a penis.”

9. lauraw - June 16, 2017

Looks a bit like Derek Zoolander.

10. Not Your Father’s Hot Links | Tacky Raccoons - June 18, 2017

[…] Corey Hart sends mixed messages and I have no idea who he is. […]


Leave a Reply

