jump to navigation

Alright For Now October 4, 2017

Posted by skinbad in Family, Music.
trackback

I like Tom Petty’s music a lot. When my kids were little and it was my turn to try to get them to sleep, sometimes I’d sing to them. I tried to keep the singing very soft because I’m very bad. Also, it seemed I would run out of age-appropriate “lullaby” songs very quickly, so I would improvise. Alright For Now became one of my “go tos.” Evil Con Carne is our oldest, and when he was a little tyke and his sisters were babies, I’d have to be careful to sing extra quiet and close the door because he would get upset because he thought Alright For Now was HIS song. Anyway, thanks for lots of good music, Mr. Petty. I can’t think of a song of yours I don’t enjoy.

Comments»

1. geoff - October 4, 2017

I always sang “On Broadway” (George Benson version) to my daughter.

2. Sobek - October 4, 2017

I sang Swinging on a Star.

3. Retired Geezer - October 4, 2017

I sang my kids the Soundtrack to that great film “Truck Stop Wimmin”.

4. Mrs. Peel - October 5, 2017

Both of mine really liked “Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen” for some reason. For a lullaby, the younger liked Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. I must have played it 5000 times in those early days when he just would not go to sleep at night. Rocking him in one arm and playing with the other.

5. Evil Con Carne - October 16, 2017

I remember my pops had me listen to the real song. I was disappointed because I thought Tom Petty stole it from him. xD


Leave a Reply

