jump to navigation

How About Some Misery With Your Meal? March 18, 2024

Posted by geoff in News.
trackback

A lot of concern about the direction of “sustainable” food sources, with increasing pressure to consider insects, and now snakes, as high efficiency, low environmental impact, foods. Snakes don’t sound half-bad to me, but I’d prefer to keep insects out of my diet as much as possible.

Unfortunately, with the way things are going, eating bugs may be the lesser evil:

It’s hearty, it’s meaty, it’s mold

Scientists are exploring how tuning the genomes of mushrooms and molds can transform these food sources into gourmet, nutrient-packed meals made with minimal processing and a light environmental footprint.

Yeah – given a choice between bugs and mold, I’m thinking bugs every time.

Comments»

1. Bunk Strutts - March 24, 2024

I hear cannibalism is coming back in vogue.


Leave a comment