jump to navigation

ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes! June 18, 2009

Posted by geoff in Music, News, Politics.
trackback

I need a little help here, ‘cuz while I normally unquestioningly believe everything the Obama administration says, I’m suddenly having trouble following the timelines of their statements. Maybe you can sort it out for me:

Date The Quote My Thoughts
12/19/08 “The economy is in much worse shape than we thought it was in,” Biden told me…” Of course it is. Evil Bushies…
2/17/09 In Denver yesterday, President Obama signed his economic stimulus bill, … In his remarks, which are generating largely positive coverage, Obama sounded a cautiously optimistic tone about the country’s economic prospects, and touted the legislation as a step to preserve the “American dream.” Oooohhh yeah! Now we’re cooking with gas!
3/6/09 On a day when the number of Americans out of work reached a 25- year high, President Obama made a visit to a place where he could show just how in fact his stimulus plan really is saving jobs.
…The president insists today the nation is now on the right track.(BEGIN VIDEO CLIP)

BARACK OBAMA, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES: “There were those who argued that our recovery plan was unwise and unnecessary.”

Fools! Cretins! Can’t they see how wrong they are? “Unwise and unnecessary?” Hmmph!! It’s already working, morons!
3/13/09 Larry Summers sounded a note of cautious optimism today about President Obama’s stimulus plan, the Washington Post reports. While it’s way too early to assess its “broader economic impact,” Obama’s chief economic adviser called it “moderately encouraging” that consumer spending appears to be back on track. See? See? That’s just how easy it is when you get the right team on the job!!
4/14/09 President Barack Obama said Monday the $787 billion economic stimulus plan is beginning to take hold and that work is coming in “ahead of schedule and under budget.” Yay!! Finally the disastrous policies of the Bush administration are dispelled! Thank you Barack!!
4/29/09 “The hangover from the Bush administration is even worse than we thought,” Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney, chairman of the Joint Economic Committee, said in a statement. “These numbers reflect a drawdown in business inventories and continued weakness in the housing and commercial real estate markets. Americans are starting to spend more and I’m optimistic that we will begin to see the effects of the stimulus next quarter.” But I thought…Oh well, I guess Bush was extra persistently evil
5/28/09 President Obama refocused on the economy yesterday, asserting that at its 100-day mark, his $787 billion stimulus bill is already paying dividends, and that the economy is showing some promise. Uh, OK. Kinda sounds the same as 6 weeks ago, though. But at least we’ve finally exorcised the Bush demons from the economy!
6/14/09 [Following announcement of May unemployment numbers] “The economy was worse off when we made the assessment than anyone thought it was.” But you said…

I guess I need to open my mind, somehow.

I need to turn and face the strain.

Time may change me — I can’t trace time.

OK, Barack, I get that.

Comments

1. geoff - June 18, 2009

Thanks, Michael. I want to make sure that the essential point gets through – that they can’t say their program is working, and then claim that it’s Bush’s fault when it’s not working.

2. PattyAnn - June 18, 2009

Sort it out? That’s above my pay grade.

3. kevlarchick - June 18, 2009

I depend on geoff to explain “complicated” things. Like why am I so edgy at certain times of the month?

4. Mrs. Peel - June 18, 2009

David Bowie makes everything better.

(Just kidding; I love Labyrinth, but Jareth must scare the crap out of most kids.)

5. composmentis - June 18, 2009

Whomever told David Bowie he could sing is most likely the same sadistic asshole who led Obama to run for president.

6. Dave in Texas - June 18, 2009

>> Like why am I so edgy at certain times of the month?

Mortgage payment?

Something like that I’m sure. Mom mentioned something about a monthly bill arriving.

7. Michael - June 18, 2009

I loved Labyrinth. My kids loved it too.

8. Joey Buzz - June 18, 2009

The only Bowie recordings that I can listen to with any sense of appreciation are those that involve SRV.

9. Cathy - June 18, 2009

I love David Bowie. Always have. Michael knows it.

I’m sorry David’s gonna have to turn and face the strain (or strange) now himself… living in BERMUDA and having some new neighbors from GITMO. Poor guy. Maybe he can take up hand gun ownership or the like. Btw – Britain is pissed that Bermuda agreed to take the Gitmo-guys.

10. Michael - June 18, 2009

Huh, I started looking up the lyrics, and the websites are divided about whether he’s facing the “strain” or the “strange.”

11. Car in - June 18, 2009

Michigan unemployement is 14.1%. Up a a whole 1.2% in one month. Jenny blames it on John Engler and Bush. I’m sure she’d throw Regean in there, too, if she could.

I can only imagine how much worse it would be w/o the stimulus. @@.

12. Vmaximus - June 18, 2009

I just saw Geoff’s chart (linked to NRO) on Boortz’ site. He is still getting around

13. Retired Geezer - June 18, 2009

We like Labyrinth a lot. The part where Bowie wanders around the Escher landscape is cool.
I know the guy who does the “Contact Juggling” with the glass balls. He was standing behind Bowie doing it by feel.
I bought a book and video to try to learn that but I’m pretty weak at it.

When Blogidaho got a Boortz link I got a zillion hits in one day. It was for the World’s Ugliest Dog.

14. Cathy - June 18, 2009

Best line in the movie Labyrinth, when young Jennifer Connelly confronts the Goblin King, David Bowie, and says:

“You have no power over me.”

Played this video at a church youth group lock in for middle-school age kids, and they loved it.

15. sandy burger - June 18, 2009

I’m not a big David Bowie fan, but I do like these songs:

Ashes To Ashes (ugh, terrible video)
Five Years
Pallas Athena
Modern Love
If I’m Dreaming My Life
Rock N Roll Suicide

16. lauraw - June 18, 2009
17. composmentis - June 18, 2009

You’re really reaching, lw. Yeah.

Though the story might attract Rosetta. He’s all about growing bigger and better potatoes and carrots.

18. geoff - June 18, 2009

He’s all about growing bigger and better potatoes and carrots.

Well he certainly likes planting them.

19. Veeshir - June 18, 2009

Heh. Great explanation column.

Maybe this will make the media too, I saw your graph on Fox and Friends this morning (I don’t know if they attributed it to you).

know the guy who does the “Contact Juggling” with the glass balls. He was standing behind Bowie doing it by feel.

It was Michael Moschen, right retired geezer? I have his video, it’s optically delusionistically fantastic.

20. MCPO Airdale - June 18, 2009

I’m blaming Harry S. Truman. It’s obvious where the buck stops!!

21. geoff - June 18, 2009

Time to hit the road. I’ll see y’all when I get to CO.

22. lauraw - June 18, 2009

At least growing carrots is a hobby.

The people who win umpty-jillion dollars and then decide to start a business are the ones who really boggle the mind.

“Yay! I’m rich! Now I have enough money to buy a job!”

23. lauraw - June 18, 2009

Take care geoff, drive safely

24. Cathy - June 18, 2009

Stay safe, Geoff. You are loved and precious to many.

25. Retired Geezer - June 18, 2009

It was Michael Moschen, right retired geezer? I have his video, it’s optically delusionistically fantastic.

Yeah! That’s him.
I can almost do one of the simple tricks.

26. Dave in Texas - June 18, 2009

managing umpty-jillions dollars is a job.

27. Mrs. Peel - June 18, 2009

I actually wrote a note on FB exploring Labyrinth a bit. I didn’t go into it too much, but basically, Labyrinth is a high quest fantasy in structure, but has a lot more to it than that. Every time I watch it, I notice something new.

Happy trails, geoff.

28. Unemployment: June Projection and a Dire Warning of Posts to Come « Innocent Bystanders - June 30, 2009

[…] administration (”the Bush economy was worse than we thought”). As has been pointed out many times before, from the time of the bill’s passage until early June, they claimed that they […]

29. July Unemployment « Innocent Bystanders - August 7, 2009

[…] Saying that “the recession is worse than anybody thought” is a tired old tune […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry