jump to navigation

200 Trapped In Gateway Arch July 22, 2007

Posted by Michael in Crime, Humor.
trackback

I’ve ridden to the top of the Arch a few times in those little cars that ratchet up the legs. It’s a scary, claustrophobic experience even without a power outage and a cable break.

Naturally, I checked with St. Louis native and IB regular Eddiebear to make sure he was OK. Eddie says he’s fine. He then spontaneously denied that he had any responsibility for the accident, but he did mention that he was hiding in the trees in East St. Louis in time to watch the rescue operation.

arch.jpg

 

ST. LOUIS – About 200 people were trapped inside the 630-foot.

Gateway Arch for about two hours after an apparent power outage, authorities said.

The power went out around 8:45 p.m. Saturday, stalling two trams filled with about 40 people each, said Mike Maris, deputy superintendent of the Gateway Arch.

About 100 other people were stranded at the top of the monument of stainless steel, Maris said. He said the evacuation of the south tram, where one of nine cables may have broken, took about two hours.

200 trapped in Gateway Arch for 2 hours

Comments

1. sandy burger - July 22, 2007

Missouri loves company.

2. Mr Minority - July 22, 2007

Oh, My God! We are trapped!! Let’s have “end of the world” sex!

3. Michael - July 22, 2007

IB Factoid Of The Day:

Jeebers. For the first time ever (that I know of), IB has pulled off a WordPress triple play. We’re on all of their “top 100” lists, and we’re in the top ten in each one.

Top Blogs — #8

Fastest Growing Blogs — #3

Top Posts — #2

All thanks to the genius of Pupster, who got a magazine he didn’t want and immediately recognizing the humorous opportunity that the cover presented. This triggered links from Ace, See-Dubya (at Hot Air), LGF, and many others.

4. BrewFan - July 22, 2007

Wow. Did you see the number of views? The old record was shattered!

5. Michael - July 22, 2007

Uh huh. Yeah Brew, I did.

The “old” record.

Which was set by me when Ace linked “KFC Advertises To Extraterrestrials.”

Pupster pwned me. I’m a has-been now.

*kicks dirt, shuffles off to the sidelines*

6. BrewFan - July 22, 2007

Don’t feel bad, I think you’re leading the cumulative totals category. You got a lot of miles out of the Louis Reard post đŸ™‚

7. eddiebear - July 23, 2007

The last time I went up there was when I was dating my now wife. She had never been up there before, and I have trouble with heights, so we were quite a match. The cars riding up are waaaayy too antique and waaaayyy too cramped. Oh, and parking is expensive.

I guess the next time I go will be when my daughter gets a bit older. The museum and videos are pretty informative as well. And the Old Cathedral is on the Arch Grounds and well worth the visit.

As for the date of the incident, I was nowhere near the Arch or East St. Louis (like I would want to be there anyway). relaxing after my birthday party and then spent the sfternoon at the zoo with the Little One. The best part was when she saw the new baby elephant up close and asked where the daddy elephant was.

8. eddiebear - July 23, 2007

I meant afternoon.

9. "Michael Brewfan" - November 21, 2007

Hmm. “Michael” and “Brewfan” could use a day (or year) off.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry