jump to navigation

Boxers or briefs, pt. 2 February 1, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Economics, History, Personal Experiences.
trackback

prod_13736_thumb.jpg

In my first post on this fascinating topic, I posed a question, which was my theory that most of us wear as adults what our moms bought for us when we were kids and teenagers, and we just got used to it or whatever, and that was that.

As several people pointed out, except for special occasions I’m not really trying to make a fashion statement, I just want to be comfortable.

Part of the reason I find this theory so plausible is that my own anecdotal evidence supports it fully, so I can treat it like global warming theory.  Another reason though is the special relationship a mother and a son share.  It’s different from fathers and sons, and of course completely different from that of parents and daughters. 

Unless a power tool is missing.  Then you’re all equally guilty under the law.

However special and close the mother / son relationship might be, there are areas where open communication is not really a priority.

That’d be talkin about underwear.  No boy, no adolescent, no teenager, hell who am I kidding, no man in his 40s wants to discuss this with mom.  Not at all.  Not ever.  Don’t get me wrong, moms can talk about it all the time and dear God we wish they would just please shut up about it.  “Look what I got for you at Target today David, the other ones were looking so thin and threadbare and yak, yak, yak, yak”.  “Mom, ok, uh, yeah just, all right already, ok, ahh,,  AIYEEEEEE”!!

So we wore what they bought and that was it.  The alternative was discussing it.

When I was 19 my mom had a friend who lost a son to a premature heart attack.  He was about 31.  About my size.

I think you all know where this is going.

To understand my mom’s thought process in this nightmare, you have to appreciate (which I of course did not at the time) that she was a child of the depression.  It affected her life profoundly.  She grew up poor on a little farm in Alabama.  Her dad was a carpenter.  She was a teenager during WWII, and she remembered rationing.  Most of you are aware that every single commodity you could buy was rationed.  Meat, eggs, milk, bread, gasoline, tires, clothing..  No coupon, no buy.

People of limited means survived the depression by saving everything.  You wasted nothing.  They had grease drives for cryin out loud… save your grease drippings from meats.

So you might be able to understand when my mother came home from her friend’s house with two paper grocery bags, she thought she was doing a very good thing.

It was this guy’s underwear.

I swear to God, she brought me another man’s underwear.

A DEAD man’s underwear.  And she had a co-conspirator, who probably came up with the idea.

“Martha sent these over today.  They were Ken’s”.  I open bag, look in, and drop it, backing away like it’s full of baby rattlesnakes.

I think I screamed like a girl.  I don’t remember exactly.  I said something.

“No way.  Uh uh.  Not happening” I said.  She goes all ‘practical on me’.

“Oh hush, they’re practically new.  And he was exactly your size”.

memo to self: this size can equal premature death from heart disease.  think about it bub.

“Mom, they’re some other guys underwear.  A dead guy’s underwear”.

“Well they only needed one pair for the service David.  I don’t understand what’s wrong”.

Oh great, there’s one pair missing from the set.

“I am not wearing those.  He is dead.  Death could have jumped into them.  Death does that, it doesn’t care where it goes.  Those could be Death Briefs!  Don’t you want grandchildren someday”?

I almost had her there.  But she found her second wind.

She carried on for a bit about how ungrateful children were or something, I don’t know.  At some point in my youth I learned to filter that frequency.  It was a coping mechanism that helped me survive.  Anyway, I took those bags and shoved them in the garbage can, and planted the lid.

Firmly.

Before I left to go back to school, I looked in the trunk of my car. 

Yep.  Tucked way up in the back.  Behind the spare.

Depression children are not just resourceful.

They are sneaky as all hell.

Comments

1. geoff - February 1, 2007

I don’t know what to think about that story, but I know I’ll never forget it.

2. kevlarchick - February 1, 2007

My mother in law still saves her grease drippings when she cooks meat. Best gravy ever!

David, they’re just underwear! Your package will never know the difference. I grew up on hand me downs.

3. daveintexas - February 1, 2007

Hel-LO! Dead guy. DEAD GUY SHORTS.

What if they had a curse? Hmmm? What about that “Death don’t care where it goes” thing, huh?

I tossed those suckas.

4. Pupster - February 1, 2007

***Flashback***
12 yr old Pupster with Momma Pupster at the Sporting Goods Store, 2 days before Jr. High starts:

M.P. – You have to try it on. How else will you know it fits?

P- No. Just buy it and let’s get out of here.

M.P. – I can’t return it if it’s the wrong size…

P- If I try it on you can’t return it either…
*Whining* Pleeease, just buy it and lets goooo…

MP – Here, let me just hold it up to your waist…*opens package*

P- Mom! NO!

MP- Why do they call it that? It doesn’t look very supportive…

P- *tries to turn invisible*

5. Retired Geezer - February 1, 2007

P- *tries to turn invisible*

P – *notices 3 Cheerleaders watching the show*

6. Retired Geezer - February 1, 2007

I grew up on hand me downs.

When the Grandkids come up here to visit, one of our first stops is always Savers. They come from California so they never bring the right clothes.

We bought a Toaster there yesterday. Mrs. Geezer didn’t want me to take a piece of bread to try it out.
“Ewwwww Cooties!”
“I’m not going to eat the toast, I just want to make sure it makes the toast brown.”
It’s not like we were buying Toothbrushes. Sheeesh.

We cleaned it and disinfected it when we got home and then discovered it didn’t work. Oh it got hot and all but even when it was set on ‘dark’, the bread hardly got warm.

We had to return it.

7. momma pupster - February 1, 2007

Darling. We have to see if these fit in the crotch. Come over here. Move your hands! Do they bind up? Here, let me see. Turn around. Are they too tight? Move your hands or I’m going to slap them!

*puts fingers into waistband to test fit*

*thinking: well he certainly has no ass to speak of. Takes after his father*

8. The Cheerleaders - February 1, 2007

*giggle*

9. daveintexas - February 1, 2007

UPDATE: These are not an option.

Probably NSFW, I ain’t checking till I get home.

http://www.gocommandos.com

Buy Commando Patches and go Commando with comfort.

Yeesh, I don’t even think I’ll check from home.

10. harrison - February 1, 2007

“I grew up on hand me downs.” – KC

That had had some other guy’s junk in ’em?
Tough childhood.

11. Bart - February 1, 2007

Man, are you craaaazy?

Do you realize the opportunity you passed up by not wearing the underwer?

What if those underwear contained the spirit of the man? Just think of the experiences you could have had.

12. Death - February 1, 2007

You chose, wisely.

13. BrewFan - February 1, 2007

Having parents who grew up in the depression too, I can testify to the frugality these people needed to survive. My mom wasn’t too bad if we needed school clothes but my dad was like, “What do you mean you need shoes?! You just got new shoes last year!.”

“But Dad, there’s a hole worn through the bottom!”

“Put a little cardboard in there for Christ’s sake! Why when I was a kid we used to have to [insert depression horror story here]”.

14. skinbad - February 1, 2007

About beginning high school time, I got boxes of hand-me-downs from a neighbor with a kid about three years older than me. Plaid suitcoats for Sunday, size 12 disco shoes, the works. His last name was “Hatch” and he had a football jersey that said “Snatch” on the back. Nickname, I suppose. I wore it a couple of times until I figured out I didn’t want to wear it anymore. Live and learn.

15. Mrs. Peel - February 1, 2007

Ok, I went to that Commandos site. That’s almost as bizarre as the ButtForYou.

16. daveintexas - February 1, 2007

Did I not warn you? Hell I haven’t even looked at it.

Now I’m pretty sure I won’t

17. BrewFan - February 1, 2007

Its not dirty weird. Its entreprenurial weird.

18. Mrs. Peel - February 1, 2007

It’s just bizarre. Not a bad idea, I have to admit.

19. daveintexas - February 1, 2007

I accept your erudite analysis as excellent advice.

No need for me to check it out.

Thanks, pup reporters!

20. Wickedpinto - February 2, 2007

I grew up on hand me downs.

100% true story.

I have a cousin a VERY talented student, and thinker, she was an aeronautical/aerospace(mostly mechanical) engineer who got a post grad degree in something else, and makes a significant 6 figures a year as a part time consultant.

That VERY SAME cousin, spent most of her highschool and many of her college years taking time off from her part time job (we aren’t a wealthy family) to attend Rick Springfield performances, and papering her walls with Rick Springfield posters.

Also, that VERY same cousin, has a younger sister, that younger sister had a daughter, that second cousin of mine is about 13 years younger than I, and only 2 years ago, the Brilliant Rick Springfield worshipper, who who is a talented engineer/scientist, I watched this fantasticaly talented person recieve hand me UPS! from her own niece.

My engineer cousin asked her sisters daughter/niece/my second cousin, right in front of all her family? “did you outgrow those shoes?”

I loved that. My li’l li’l cousin (second cousin, cuz her mom is my “li’l” cousin even though she is 5 years older than I) is such a surprisingly adult woman, that before my li’l li’l cousin was even 14, she had the same shoe size as her most beloved aunt.

I don’t know why this was so long, I just couldn’t grasp my thought until now, and now I don’t know how it was applicable.

Still, it’s cute, that an aunt 18 or more years older than a niece, takes hand me down’s/ups.

21. Rightwingsparkle - February 2, 2007

The Commandos site just as something that looks like a panty liner. It’s a drawing anyway.I think we should have had the boxer/brief discussion over at Ace’s. Think of the thousands we would have educated!

Let me tell you this story about depression affected people. My hubby’s grandad was about 80 when we married. He lived in the same house he grew up in. Just a regular house with additons built on as needed. 3 bedroom/2bath when I arrived. He had 3 working farms. Rich delta farmland. Worth God knows how much. Let’s just say he had plenty of money. He lived on a lovely lake. I asked him once why he never bought a boat for his family to enjoy. He said he had a boat. (a small fishing boat) I said, “I mean like a big pontoon boat like so many on the lake who go out every weekend.” He said “What would I need that for? Just a waste of money.” I thought it sad that he was such a spendthrift that he couldn’t even enjoy his money a little. A big boat like that (which he could have easily afforded) would have been so much fun for all his children and grandchildren when we came to visit. (it ended up that my BIL, the doctor, bought a boat later and brought when we all got together) I asked grandpa why he never traveled back to Italy where he immigrated from when he was 2. He just shook his head.

I found it sad that he couldn’t enjoy his money.

No one can accuse me of the same…;-)

We even bought a pontoon boat soon after that. If you want to see it, I can find a pic.

22. Dave in Texas - February 2, 2007

I think we should have had the boxer/brief discussion over at Ace’s.

Well work your wiles woman. I gave it up here. Anecdote about dead man’s shorts. It’s got everything. Pathos. Drama. a.. a dead guy.

I swear, I work it, I work it, and nothing works.

23. BrewFan - February 2, 2007

I don’t want to see a picture of your boat if its bigger then mine. My ego is very fragile.

24. Wickedpinto - February 4, 2007

Mrs Texas? Stop Sock Puppeting your husband, it might affect his male ego.

(NOTE!: that is an overly familiar joke and I hope it is taken that way)

25. Bart - September 19, 2007

I’m about to order some underwear. I’ll be trying this brand:
http://www.denimexpress.com/calvinklein-woven-boxer-u1400.html

I’ll report back and let everyone know how it goes.

26. daveintexas - September 19, 2007

heh. back when I really used to throw myself into my work.

27. Retired Geezer - September 19, 2007

I’m about to order some underwear.

Can I give it the squishy butt squeeze test at the IBSB?

28. anonymous - September 19, 2007

Only if you’re wearin em.

29. Honorifiabilitudinitatibus - January 23, 2008

i wear boxers.

except when i go play sports

boxers just kind of ride up the crotch


Sorry comments are closed for this entry