jump to navigation

Weasels and Thistles and Snakes, oh my! August 29, 2017

Posted by Retired Geezer in Entertainment, Gardening.
trackback

This year I have noticed an overabundance of Milk Thistles also called Prickly Lettuce around Camp Geezer ™.

Those suckers pop up quickly even where there is no irrigation. They are like gigantic, 3-foot Dandelions. I hate them!

MilkThistle

I’ve also noticed a lot of snakes around the yard, none of them have been poisonous. Mostly I’ve seen Striped Whipsnakes

striped whipsnake

but I have seen a few Gopher Snakes (Bullsnakes) also. They are usually pretty cranky and will strike at you if you get too close. They look a lot like Rattlesnakes.

gopher snake

Today, while mowing the yard, I saw a really fast snake scooting across the grass. He moved faster than I could go on the riding lawn mower. (Yeah I tried to race him).

I discovered the same snake about 10 minutes later and was able to get a video of him with my phone. I had never seen this type of snake before, it was a North American Racer.

NAracer

Whenever possible, I will try to catch the offending reptiles and introduce them to their new home, across the road in a gopher-rich field. I’ve probably seen about 10 snakes this year and relocated half of them. Mrs. Geezer is impressed and thankful.

That brings us to the Weasel.

I was cleaning up some junk in my backyard and I saw a huge pile of dirt by some old stovepipes. I investigated and discovered a huge hole that led under the garage floor!

WeaselHole

Yeah it’s probably not a weasel. It might be a Rock chuck or a Raccoon.

Whatever it is, I’m thinking it is big enough to do some damage to Spudder*.

How are things in your town?

*Fun Factoid: Michael is the person who gave the name ‘Spudder’ to my Feral Cat.

Comments»

1. Retired Geezer - August 29, 2017

The Weasel hole has many heavy rocks around it. Something bigger than a gopher did the excavating.

2. Retired Geezer - August 30, 2017

Here’s the link to the Vimeo video of the Racer Snake. It’s kind of jerky because I was holding my phone out at arms-length.

3. Jimbro - August 30, 2017

We have that milk thistle and the type of thistle that’s really spiky, not sure of the name. They grow wild in the fields despite being cut down yearly when we bush hog the whole yard in the fall.

4. jam2 - August 30, 2017

Lots of garter snakes this year. Some were pretty big (for a garter snake).

5. Cathy - August 30, 2017

Thanks for the news from Lake Wo-Be-Geezer. And the pictures.

We are fine. Feeling almost guilty that we did not get hammered by Harvey like our Houston friends did, but we will help them as best we can in the coming months and years. Hugs to all.

6. lauraw - August 30, 2017

Whipsnake is doing a cool infinity symbol thing.

7. Sobek - August 31, 2017

If I were a snake, I would totally try to write things like “soon” or “You’re next” with my body.


Leave a Reply

